Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

11th Grade Political Speech Comparison: Political Speech Home

Compare a contemporary speech with a speech from the textbook

Databases

Use the following databases for your research:

Directions for Using Databases

Directions for finding speeches in the databases:

 

History Study Center:  

  1. Click on Advanced Search
  2. Uncheck "All Resources"
  3. Click on "Show Historical Documents"
  4. Check "The Penguin Book of Historic Speeches" for historical speeches OR Check the box for "The Penguin Book of Twentieth Century Speeches" for modern speeches
  5. Type in "Speeches" and click search. You could also type in "Speeches AND Clinton"  (or name of person you are looking for)

Ebsco Database Collection:

  1. Before putting in your search, click on the link above the search box that states "Choose database"  You may want to select all or select a few for your search.
  2. Type in "Political Speeches" in the search box and click search
  3. Limit your search by clicking on full text
  4. Click on "Primary Source Documents" to narrow your search
  5. Adjust your Publication Date for more recent articles OR Change the Sort from Relevance to "Date Newest"

 

Sirs Knowledge Source:

If you link your account at the top of the page to Google, you can save articles to your google drive folder.

1. In the search box, typ in "political speeches"  or type in "vital speeches"

2. Click on primary sources

Political Orators

 

Famous Speeches

Search Engines and Sites

 

       Sweet Search

 

 

800 N.E. 9th Street Madison, SD 57042 | Email:Library Director | c2013 MHS