Madison Central School District: 7th Grade Rain Forest: Home

Sirs Discoverer

Use Sirs Discoverer to find facts about your animal!

Sirs Discoverer This link opens in a new window K-9: Full-text articles and graphics from more than 1,600 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents, which were carefully selected for their educational content, interest and level of readability for middle and elementary curriculum topics.

In the search box for World Book and Middle Search Plus, search for your animal.

World Book Student This link opens in a new window For middle school
MiddleSearch Plus This link opens in a new window Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags

The article below was taken from Middle Search Plus.

Welcome to the Rain Forest!

BBC Nature: Rainforest videos and information

Use this site to find links, books, ebooks, etc. to help you with your projects and research!

Remember to use MLA citations when using the databases!

	List of animals
© 2012 Pearson Education, Inc. All Rights Reserved. http://www.teachervision.com African Elephant Alpaca Anteater Amazon Butterfly Amazon Sting Ray Anaconda Arapaima Army Ant Aye-Aye Monkey Bald Eagle Bengal Tiger Blue and Yellow Macaw Boa Constrictor Butterfly Cape Buffalo Capuchin Monkey Capybara Chimpanzee Coatimundi Cock-of-the-Rock Crocodile Dragonfly Dwarf Mongoose Earthworm Eclectus Parrot Eyelash Viper Flying Fox Flying Squirrel Fruit Bat Gecko Giant Armadillo Gibbon Monkey	Gold Frog Golden Toad Goliath Beetle Gorilla Great Horned Owl Harpy Eagle Hawk Hoatzin Horned Palm Viper Howler Monkey Hummingbird Iguana Jaguar Katydid King Cobra Kinkajou Komodo Dragon Leaf Cutter Ant Lemur Leopard Macaw Mandrill Margay Milk Snake Monkey Mountain Lion Ocelot Okapi Opossum Orangutan Paca Peacock Bass Peccary Piranha Pirarucu Poison Arrow Frog Puma	Pygmy Chimpanzee Pygmy Marmoset Python Quetzal Rainbow Boa Rainbow Lizard Red Deer Red-Eyed Tree Frog Red Panda Rhinoceros Beetle Rubber Eel Ruby-Throated Hummingbird Scarlet Macaw Scarlet Tanager Sloth Slow Loris Snake Spear-Nosed Bat Spider Monkey Squirrel Monkey Sting Ray Tamarin Tamarin Lion Tamarin Monkey Tapir Tarantula Toucan Tree Frog Vampire Bat Vicuna Wolf Woodpecker Woolly Monkey

Extreme Birds by Dominic Couzens
Call Number: 909 One
ISBN: 1554079527
Publication Date: 2011-08-25
Extreme Birds is a photographic showcase of 150 birds at the extremes of nature. It reveals nature's ingenuity and sometimes its sense of humor. The species in this book were chosen for their extraordinary characteristics and for behaviors far beyond the typical. They are the biggest, the fastest, the meanest, the smartest. They build the most intricate nests, they have the most peculiar mating rituals, they dive the deepest and they fly the highest. These are the overachievers of the avian world.
Rainforest Bird Rescue by Linda Kenyon
Call Number: 909.82 Chr
ISBN: 1554073456
Publication Date: 2006-09-12
"Right now, almost 1,200 bird species -- one in eight -- are threatened with extinction, and without our help, hundreds will disappear by the year 2100." - from the introduction