Madison Central School District: 8th Grade Argumentative Research: Home

Follett Destiny: Look Up a Book

Sirs Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window For grades 6-12. A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
Points of View (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window current issues presented in different view points
Sirs Discoverer This link opens in a new window K-9: Full-text articles and graphics from more than 1,600 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents, which were carefully selected for their educational content, interest and level of readability for middle and elementary curriculum topics.

Explora for Kids This link opens in a new window General collection
- This link opens in a new window
Explora for Teens This link opens in a new window General collection
Proquest This link opens in a new window Provides the full text (image or text+graphics) from 1,700+ magazines/journals and newspapers for K-12, college, and general users, including Barron's.

Topics for persuasive/argumentative research topics

8th Grade Research: Argumentative

2. Finding supporting evidence: go to Points of View

Other databases like Sirs Discoverer, Explora
Search strategies: full text should be checked, filter by date, by type of resource
Use toolbars to save, print, export citations

3. Searching with Destiny card catalog and databases

a. Keywords on destiny–keep it short, think of different terms

b. Phrases like housing NOT fiction

c. Databases–can use quotation marks if you want an exact phrase

3. Citations