Madison Central School District: Research Process: Databases

General Databases

Ebsco Database Collection This link opens in a new window High School Edition. Click "Choose Databases" to see a full list.
Explora for Teens This link opens in a new window General collection
FactCite This link opens in a new window Includes Biographies, sports, mythology, U.S. History, science and technology, countries and culture
Points of View (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window current issues presented in different view points
Proquest This link opens in a new window Provides the full text (image or text+graphics) from 1,700+ magazines/journals and newspapers for K-12, college, and general users, including Barron's.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window Topics on Business Management, Pscyotherapy, Government, Geography, Sociology, Psychology, Health Care, Politics and International Relations.
Sirs Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window For grades 6-12. A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
TrueFlix This link opens in a new window paired video and book with many different subjects
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window

History and Geography

Culture Grams This link opens in a new window Daily life and culture, statistics, history, customs, lifestyles, recipes and interviews from over 200 countries. In four modules: World, Kids, United States, and Canada.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window General, Genealog, High School, History, Research, Scholarly
FactCite This link opens in a new window Includes Biographies, sports, mythology, U.S. History, science and technology, countries and culture
Indigenous Peoples This link opens in a new window Genealogy, General, History, Scholarly
Sixties in America This link opens in a new window

Health & Science

Alt Health Watch (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Consumer Health Complete (Consumer Edition) This link opens in a new window Convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Browse medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles
Consumer Health Complete (Journals) This link opens in a new window Searches Journals for health-related topics. Content covers all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream to holistic medicine
FactCite This link opens in a new window Includes Biographies, sports, mythology, U.S. History, science and technology, countries and culture
Greenfile (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Health Source This link opens in a new window This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window This resource is designed to assist the public in locating appropriate, authoritative health information sources.
Pubmed This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife

Foreign Languages & Art

DuoLingo This link opens in a new window Foreign language

Agriculture & Automotive

Agricola This link opens in a new window Includes publications on all aspects of agriculture.
Chilton Library This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative manuals online with monthly updates. Thousands of domestic and imported car, truck, van and SUV models from 1940-present and includes repair, maintenance and specification tables are covered.

Search for Books and Resources here

Encyclopedias

Culture Grams This link opens in a new window Daily life and culture, statistics, history, customs, lifestyles, recipes and interviews from over 200 countries. In four modules: World, Kids, United States, and Canada.
FactCite This link opens in a new window Includes Biographies, sports, mythology, U.S. History, science and technology, countries and culture
Funk & Wagnalls (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window General Encyclopedia
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window World Book for High School Students
World Book Discover This link opens in a new window Has reference resources for differentiated instruction, such as ESL, reluctant readers, and adult learners. Also includes an extensive life skills section
World Book Dramatic Learning This link opens in a new window By turning texts into plays, skits, and monologues and providing teaching tools to apply these materials in the classroom, Dramatic Learning can help students become more fluent readers, understand core concepts, and internalize content.

Ebooks for Research

Ebscohost Ebooks This link opens in a new window Search and view the full text of eBooks. Full text of 10,000+ commercially published books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers & more, plus Cliffs Notes
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window General topics
Mackin Via Ebooks This link opens in a new window Mainly non-fiction ebooks for research
Poetry & Short Story Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window Poetry for Students and Short Stories for Student Collection of ebooks.

Government & Geneology

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window Topics on Business Management, Pscyotherapy, Government, Geography, Sociology, Psychology, Health Care, Politics and International Relations.
Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
Only available inside library
Heritage Quest This link opens in a new window Works only on-campus

Business and Education

Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window Search company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports.
Business Source Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Consumer Reports This link opens in a new window Consumer Reports is the world's largest nonprofit product-testing organization and has been helping subscribers find better, safer products for 80+ years.
Eric This link opens in a new window Indexed and full-text education literature and resources; essential for education researchers of all kinds
Explora for Educators This link opens in a new window Includes Common Core, STEM lesson plans, scavenger hunts, etc.
Learning Express: Career and College Preparation Centers This link opens in a new window Online learning platform of 300+ practice tests covering ACT, SAT, GED, and more. Complete answer explanations and study suggestions.
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window Practice, lessons, and study aids to help you do your best in school.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text information for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers.
Teacher Reference Center (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.