Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
800 N.E. 9th Street Madison, SD 57042 | Email:Library Director | c2013 MHS
Follett Destiny: Look Up a Book
FactCite This link opens in a new windowIncludes Biographies, sports, mythology, U.S. History, science and technology, countries and culture
Sirs Discoverer This link opens in a new windowK-9: Full-text articles and graphics from more than 1,600 U.S. and international magazines, newspapers and U.S. government documents, which were carefully selected for their educational content, interest and level of readability for middle and elementary curriculum topics.
Factcite and Sirs Discoverer are great databases to use for your research!
World Book & Middle Search Plus
In the search box for World Book and the other databases, search for your person.
Explora for Teens This link opens in a new window General collection
MiddleSearch Plus This link opens in a new windowMiddle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
Explora for Kids This link opens in a new window General collection
Indigenous Peoples Books Collection
Click on the image below to see the collection of resources about Indigenous Peoples
Indigenous Peoples Research Assignment
Those five groups include The Aztecs, The Inca, The Maya, The Taino, and The Iroquois. The three main themes students will include in their project include:
- Basic Facts (Who were the people? Where and when did they live?)
- Culture (religion, social structure, traditions, way of life)
- Interaction with Europeans (What happened when the Europeans arrived? What were the effects?)